Operating Under the Influence (OUI)
If you have been charged with an OUI in Maine, our attorneys will fight the charges with you. We have the experience, knowledge and ability to give you the best possible defense. We practice statewide in all Maine courts.
Call us now to get started.
First Offense: A conviction for your first OUI will, at a minimum result in a 150 day loss of your license and a $500.00 fine. Since an OUI is a crime, there is a risk of jail and probation
If there are aggravating factors the penalties increase. Aggravating factors include a high blood alcohol test, going 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, or having a passenger in your car under the age of 21. There is an additional license suspension if you are convicted of an OUI with a passenger under the age of 21.
If you refuse to take a breath test or the police officer claims that you refused to take the breath test then an additional 275 day license suspension may be imposed.
Second offense: A second OUI conviction could result in a minimum jail sentence of 7 days, a 3 year license suspension and a $700 fine. Sometime the penalties are more severe with longer jail sentence and probation.
If you refuse to take a breath test or the police office claims that you reused to take a breath test, then the penalties may be more severe.
Third offense: A third OUI conviction will result in a license suspension of at least 6 years, a 30 day jail sentence, probation and a large fine.
Forth offense: A forth conviction for OUI will result in a minimum of 6 months in jail, an 8 years license suspension and a $2,100 fine. If there is a refusal to take a breath test the penalties are more severe.
All of these penalties are the minimums. There are many instances of people getting more severe penalties.